Why The Beginning Is So Good (Spoken Word)

Thought Catalog

And we’re baaaaaack with a new #SpokenWordSaturday


I know beginnings better than anything,
I imagine myself running barefoot through fields of open possibility,
When the sky has that orange hue,
It could be ending,
or starting.
Apollo delivering the sun,
Wondering if his feet ever get tired,
Because so often mine do,
or decide to just turn around.
My shoes have holes and my toes are cramped.
I have yet to finish a marathon.
I don’t smoke,
but I get high on first touches and glances,
Overanalyzing text messages,
I know I’m kinda getting too old for this shit,
the school girl giggling
We paused,
came so close to almost kissing,
but then I ran.
Because remember
my feet put on the breaks,
Don’t know why,
I reverse when things seem like they could be progressing.
And now I’m retelling the story to my friend.
She says I am a…

View original post 336 more words

Leave a Reply

